Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 22nd, 2009

Meeting new friends while paddling in of New Orleans.

Meeting new friends while paddling in of New Orleans.

I received an invitation from my friend Matt in New Orleans, “Come paddle at GreekFest this weekend”. It sounds like a blast, huh?

I have to give you a little background on the New Orleans paddling scene. My buddy Matt had been after me to make the trip down to paddle in the swamps with the gators for quite sometime. So I made a trip down recently in March. I thought paddling with alligators, ah, how many would you actually see, they should be pretty elusive, right? Matt assured me there was nothing to worry about. Although, he gave me clear instructions as soon as he picked my up at the airport, “Just in case I forget to tell you… whatever happens… you know.. just in case… DON’T GET OUT OF THE BOAT”. I replied, sure.. got it.

The next morning we traveled to one of his favorite locations, he had scouted it out, checked out the wildlife, and found a suitable launch. Another thing he didn’t mention, he had a tandem kayak. (Which rumor has it, if you are with your significant other, its referred to as the divorce maker). Anyway, it takes a bit of skill to paddle together and not get each other soaking wet. Or in my case, covered in weeds as Matt paddles though heavy weedbeds with a stroke he calls the lawnmower.

Greekfest in New Orleans

Greekfest in New Orleans

So back to the gators. It was still pretty cool weather, so it was a quiet paddle into the bayou. But as the water and the air warmed up, the alligators began to wake and move around. Matt paddle, I photographed. Than we would switch off. Shooting photos  of gator after gator, birds, trees and amazing plants.

We spent a few days, paddling and talking about nature, conservation, and how we would like to begin giving tours. Matt in New Orleans, and us up here in the Hudson Valley. When we talked about it then, neither of us knew that we would both be in a position to take people out and share the beauty of our respective, “backyards”.

So, here we are. With an invitation to Greekfest in New Orleans.

Sorry buddy, can’t make it this time, but ask me again next year.

Well, here is an invitation to you all. If you would like to see the beauty of the Hudson Valley from the water, drop us a line. We would love to share it with you.  Oh, and if you want to paddle in New Orleans, we can hook you up with Matt. Just don’t forget, stay in the boat.

Friday tides; high – 12:58pm, low – 7:20pm

Hudson Valley Kayak Tours

Read Full Post »